The Song of my Heart

You are beautiful

And nothing else matters but you, O Lord

Your glory and majesty are to be praised

For you are the righteous King over the nations

Yes, you will judge the whole earth

And my life is in the hands of this righteous, and yet gracious God

You are worthy of all my devotion, of all my love.

You are worthy…yes, even more than worthy.

So how am I to respond?

God, I lie naked before you

Without you, my efforts are in vain and I helplessly fail

I would have died had you not come to rescue me

But you came, and you died in my place

Your effort was not in vain

I will respond. We will respond.

You are worthy of all our devotion, of all our love

You are worthy…yes, even more than worthy

All our devotion belongs to You, God

For you, we devote ourselves to love

Because everything else will fade away

As grass withers and flowers die off

So will the things of this earth

Our loyalty is to you alone

So God, we devote ourselves to love

We will love as you have loved us

We devote ourselves to this work:

To obey your commands

To step up to the calling and follow wholeheartedly after you

To deny our flesh and allow your Spirit to do His work

For you are worthy of all our devotion, of all our love

You are worthy…yes, even more than worthy

God this is the baptism we were baptized into

This is the life we will live for you:

We will submit to our husbands and love our wives

We will not speak evil against anyone, even those who have spoken evil against us

We will love those people who drive us crazy, who wronged us badly, who hurt us deeply

We will forgive them anyway

We will devote ourselves to prayer and give ourselves to you

Because nothing else matters but you, O God

And because you are worthy of all our devotion, of all our love

You are worthy…yes, even more than worthy


Leave a Reply

