Bigger than Giants

Yesterday was one of those days—a day I would generally label “bad” simply because of some frustrations and mishaps. I wanted to hide away and disown all responsibilities.  There were pressures, letdowns and burdens all topped by the little things that go wrong on only those days, such as my favorite shirt ripping. Let’s just say there were enough “little” things that it became a seemingly big thing—a giant to this powerless, time-and-resource-limited girl.

Sigh.

So after some tears of hopeless relent to the fact that I am not in control, things are not about me and things won’t always go my way (praise God!), I got out of the house, took a much needed bike ride to the park and prayed a prayer of sweet surrender.

“God, I will trust in You to give me the strength I need to complete the tasks before me. I will praise You regardless of circumstances and mishaps. The joy of the Lord is my strength; nothing is impossible for You. I will trust in You, rest in You and hope in You. Amen.”

I felt the burden lift as I gave it to God.

Choosing to give Him the “giant” does not take the giant away, but it does take the burden away. We must still face those giants just as David faced Goliath. Jesus told us that His yoke is easy and His burden is light (Matt. 11:29). We are to take His yoke upon us and lay our burdens down at the cross, trusting His Words: that His grace is sufficient, He will provide, we do not need to worry about tomorrow, we are to be anxious in nothing and nothing is too big for God.

David had every reason to hide away and fear the giant as the rest of the Israelites feared Goliath.  Yet he trusted God and what did he find out? God was bigger than the giant.

We too can trust in God because He is bigger than all our giants—than those things that seem too big for us to tackle, too heavy for us to lift, too strong for us to overcome. God is bigger.

“Is anything too hard for the LORD?” (Gen. 18:14). “With God, all things are possible” (Mark 10:27). “Behold, I am the Lord, the God of all flesh. Is there anything too hard for Me?” (Jer. 32:27)

What giants are you facing today?

Let’s not succumb to the pressures, demands, letdowns and frustrations of this life. Wait patiently on Him and hope steadfastly in Him, knowing that your giants are not bigger than your God.

2 responses to “Bigger than Giants

  1. Wow what a a perfect message for me today! I am in tears I have had an incredibly overwhelming day…nothing went the way it was supposed to and now I’m left rushing trying to get everything done for the rest of the night! But my God is bigger thanks Brandee for sharing

  2. i love how God just puts people in your life right when you need them..everything you shared echoes what I’m reading in Max Lucado’s Facing Your Giants right now. Our giants are never bigger than our God. PRAISE HIM!

Leave a Reply

