My Confession, Part 2: Trust

A lack of trust speckles throughout my daily life: in the anxious tears I’ve cried toward the unknown future, in the fear I’ve displayed during the onset of familiar Lyme symptoms, and in the hours I’ve wasted worrying about earthquakes and other natural disasters to cause havoc in my region. Trust stems from belief. This doubtful heart of mine stems from the doubts I have in God; I hate the sound of that statement, but that is what it comes down to. Does He really love me and will He guide me? Can He really heal? Is He good and sovereign even amidst the hardship and chaos? It isn’t that God hasn’t been faithful; it isn’t that He isn’t trustworthy. Our struggle to trust stems solely from our struggle to believe. To trust is to have confidence in something or someone. I am confident that my car will get me to my destination because I believe that it will. Or, I am fearful that my car won’t get me to my destination because I don’t believe it will. We cannot trust in what we don’t believe, and the result is fear, anxiety, or doubt.

So, do you struggle with fear? It stems from a lack of belief. Do you struggle with trusting God’s promises? It stems from how confidently you believe in Him. But how can we cause our doubtful hearts to confidently believe in His truth?

Proverbs 3:5-6 instructs us wisely in how to trust in God. In italics, I’ve added the original Hebrew word: and the meaning of the Hebrew word to clarify the meaning of the text:

Trust {batach: be secure, confident} in the LORD with all your heart {leb: inner man, mind, will, emotions, understanding}; and lean {sha`an: to lean on, trust} not on your own understanding. In all your ways {derek: paths, journey, course of life, roads} acknowledge {yada`: to know, learn to know, to find out and discern, to recognize} Him, and He shall direct your paths {‘orach: ways, roads, way of life}.”[1]

This passage portrays life as a journey of paths. Every day we are presented with decisions that present themselves as emotional, spiritual, and physical crossroads. In these instances we can be overcome with doubt, fear, and anxiety or we can choose to trust in God by acknowledging (learning, knowing, finding) Him as we go about our daily activities and course of life. In order to actively and consciously trust in the Lord, we must first deny our own understanding and then acknowledge Him.

So today, when you become uncertain of your circumstance, fearful of your future, doubtful of His goodness, you are faced with a crossroad in your path. Set your heart to acknowledge Him in this moment—to learn of Him and know about Him. Then, you will not only know that God is trustworthy, but you will experience His trustworthiness in your life, and the difference will result in an unwavering belief in His promises.


[1] All transliterations found at blueletterbible.org.

Leave a Reply

