Journey of Trust

..Rhode Island Coast..
..Twin Red Doors..
..Walking the Streets of Boston..

I’ve spent the last two and a half weeks visiting my twin sister in Connecticut and looking at medical schools for my husband on the East Coast. As I flew back across the country to California, my emotions felt as great as the distance between these two coasts.

After looking at the medical schools where my husband applied and being with my twin sister, my other “other half,” the prospect of moving in a year is more real and my emotions are a messy mixture of hope and anticipation, fear and uncertainty, confusion and frustration. Ooh, the joys of being a woman — the ability to feel 6+ emotions at one time…

Though we like to think otherwise, we walk blindly into each coming day. I don’t know where Mike and I will end up in a year from now, but neither do I know what awaits us tomorrow. I could succumb to the fears and uncertainties of life and, in so doing, become a nervous wreck; or I could get so caught up in my hopes and longings that my way seems to be the right way. But though we plan our steps, God directs our paths[1]. I am grateful He knows my deepest desires, but even more grateful that I can trust in His sovereign plan.

So in the midst of these scattered emotions and in light of life’s uncertainties, I will surrender to the only stability upon whom I can trust: Jesus, the Rock of the Ages. He promises that He will guide me and stay with me, and He promises to be my strength along the way. So I will not wait in expectation or in fear of tomorrow. I will not hope in a life that passes. He is my Rock, and He never changes.

What changes are you going through today? In the midst of these uncertainties, what promises of God can you confidently stand upon? How can He be your rock, your strength, your hope?

“The LORD is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer; My God, my strength, in whom I will trust; My shield and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.” –Psalm 18:2


[1] Proverbs 16:9

2 responses to “Journey of Trust

  1. Glad you had fun on your trip! I especially love the pic in front of the red doors. We’re in the same boat as you guys, moving to who-knows-where next year. It’s scary but at the same time exciting and exhilarating. But hey, we’ll get through this year together!!

Leave a Reply

