When I Step Out & He Steps In

Ooh, pick me, pick me, pleeeease pick me! I want to live my WHOLE life for you, God! Use me to save the world, to be your hands and feet in my community! It’s been my prayer time and time again, like a young child just wanting to represent her daddy and tell the world about His love. Yet as fervently as I pray it and honestly as I mean it, He always “picks me” when I am most weary or most stubborn.

And how often that weariness keeps us from doing the will of God! How often it keeps us from ministering to that person who is burdened or from calling that friend who just heard the bad news. How often we hinder the Spirit’s work when we allow our will to take priority over His.

When Jesus traveled from Judea to Galilee in John 4, He passed through Samaria. We read that when Jesus arrived in Samaria, probably about a day and half journey, He was weary and went to draw water from a well. When a Samaritan woman arrived on the scene, Jesus took time to reveal the Truth to her.

Of course Jesus took the time, you may be thinking. After all, He is God…

But in reality, the only way to realize the greatness of this verse is if we realize the reality of His humanity during this moment. He was a man who was exhausted. He was perhaps sore from the journey, and He had not eaten in a while, so He was hungry. Yet He denied Himself; He got out of the way and submitted to the will of His Father.

Jesus’ obedience and submission to the Father stemmed from His love for the Father. Love yields obedience. That is why the first and greatest commandment is to love God. It is from this love that we submit; and it is from this submission that He then enables us to do His will.

So when we are weary or stubborn, my prayer is that we would step out of the way and yield to Him. After all, He has given us His Spirit — His Divine Power — to do through us what we cannot do on our own.

“His divine power has given us everything we need for life and godliness through our knowledge of Him who called us by his own glory and goodness.” -2 Peter 1:3

One response to “When I Step Out & He Steps In

  1. Oh, so true, my friend. The pick-me’s we hve in mind are so different that what Jesus has in mind. For me it is often the response, “Great. Okay. Here we go….. LOVE her.” Ugh. Sigh. For the one He directs me to is the one who is the hardest to love. The one that I’ve drawn boundaries with to protect my heart from being hurt again, yet my Savior chides me, “C’mon, My power this time, not yours…”

    Humbling, isn’t it? This journey with this God…

Leave a Reply

