Let’s Eat!

“And Jesus said unto them, I am the bread of life: he that cometh to me shall never hunger; and he that believeth on me shall never thirst.” –John 6:35

Jesus compared Himself to a staple food in our daily lives: bread. He also compared Himself to water, a substance we cannot even live without for more than three days. I know this. I’ve heard it before, but yet I don’t meditate on the implication of this comparison enough. Food and water are two essentials to sustaining our daily, physical life. In essence, Jesus was saying that our spiritual survival and our spiritual growth are dependent upon Him just as we depend on food and water daily for strength and growth, and for our mere existence.

How is it that we want to grow and be strong in our faith, and yet we’re not willing to feed ourselves with His Word? I hear it all the time: I just wish I could have faith like _{spiritual hero #1}_, or that I could be as wise and insightful as _{ spiritual hero #2}_. Jesus is the Word who became flesh and dwelt among us. We starve ourselves spiritually and impede our spiritual growth if we do not live from the substance of His Word.

Do you want to be strong in your faith? Do you want to grow spiritually? Jesus is the Word of God, and He is the bread of life. Feed yourself with His Word daily and watch as your spirit is strengthened and as your faith grows.

Leave a Reply

