Is He MY God?

“The LORD is the great God, and the great King above all gods…Oh come, let us worship and bow down; Let us kneel before the LORD our Maker. For He is our God, and we are the people of His pasture.” Ps. 95:3, 6-7

“He’s either God in my life or He’s not.” I listened as a wise woman said this the other day in conversation.

The statement is not in regard to whether or not He is God…He is. The statement is in regard to my life. Is He MY God? Is He Lord in my life over everything – over my marriage, my relationships, my work, my dreams and desires, my will and my emotions, my entire being? Because He either is or He isn’t.

I think we all have parts of our lives that we are lord over or that we allow to be lord over us. It is often in those things we try to control, or in those things that control us. And we submit to these false gods and allow our flesh to reign over the Spirit that resides in us.

Christianity isn’t a nice tradition, or a religion we can practice on Sundays. It’s not a piece or fraction of our life. It is our life because as Christ followers, He is our life. And He must reign over and in every facet of this life we live. He must be glorified. He must be God.

Because He’s either God in my life…or He’s not.

“Lord, reign and be glorified! Allow us to discern the sin and the lies that remove you from the place of Lordship in our lives. It is all about you. It is all for your glory. You are God…you are our God.”

Leave a Reply

