Singing at the Kitchen Sink

Tonight as I washed the dishes piled high from the week, I began singing a song that flowed from my heart and into the ears of my Savior. By the way, if you don’t sing to Jesus while doing dishes at your kitchen sink, I highly recommend it. A mundane task can become quite the sacred moment. So I wrote down the words to my song and thought I’d share it with you. Feel free to sing it to your own tune, or just read it as a poem. Either way, I hope these words flow from your heart and  into the ears of your Savior as you trust Him with your life.

Tomorrow

I don’t know what tomorrow holds,
But I know it holds You.
And Jesus, You give us hope for life,
We have nothing without You.
.
So teach us here, teach us now.
Give us hope, oh, give us life.
We can’t live without You, Christ,
So in Your Truth, God, we abide.
.
Jesus, oh, Jesus.
We call out, for we know You hear us.
And we know Your plans are good for us.
So we’re stepping forward, eyes gazed on You,
Trusting. Waiting. Hoping.
.
Cuz we don’t know what tomorrow holds,
But we know it holds You.
And Jesus, You are the light of life,
It’d be dark here without You.
.
Cuz we don’t know what tomorrow holds,
But we know it holds You.
And we don’t know tomorrow’s plans,
But we know You hold it in Your hands.
2 responses to “Singing at the Kitchen Sink

  1. Hi there Aunty Brandee- Tea’s Aunt ! Tea is a blessed young woman -she’ll have the glory of God all over her through you and your sis .
    Anyway – loved the words to your “ode to le dishes” operetta!
    I’ll agree 100% with your comment about turning a mundane act into an act of worship- try it with folding LOADS of laundry that never end and making peanut butter and jelly sandwiches for the 5th year in a row – it works! I also found that praying for the person whose lunch was being made, dishes being washed, laundry being folded is a great attitude adjuster!
    God bless you Brandee – hope this finds you well and headed to the east coast to meet that little tea cup!
    blessings and peace in all you do –
    Biz Zeller

    • Aww! Thanks Biz! So great to hear from you! And congrats to you in your new role as a grandmother! Eden is absolutely beautiful.
      Thank you also for the comment and wise words. I will most definitely try praying for Mike when I next do the laundry!! Oh I can think of many times when an attitude adjustment was needed during that task…!
      God bless you and your wonderful family, Biz! It is such a delight to hear from you – I hope you are feeling well and that above all else you are finding joy as you hope in Jesus!

Leave a Reply

