A Need for Romance

I’ve wanted to watch a good chick flick all week. There’s something about a good romance, right ladies? I noticed my husband’s been wanting to see a good action-packed movie lately; he picked out four movies to borrow from his brother the other day and asked me to bring them home when I was there last weekend. Sadly, I left…ahem… forgot them on the table…

But on a serious note, why is it that movies capture our attention and draw us into their stories? Is it that we innately desire to be loved and live an exciting life? In my recent desire to spend the afternoon watching romance movies, I felt God tug on my heart.

Before I go any farther in my observation, I want to make one thing clear: I am not against watching movies for an afternoon. But I felt God tug on my heart and ask me the following question: I am the GOD of love and romance; I am the GOD of action, adventure, and glory. Why don’t you yearn for Me this afternoon; to get caught up in My love story for you?

“Hmm…good question,” I thought as I pondered a couple of reasons that could contribute to this lack of desire in many of us:

  1. We’re not feeding the desire. One time I stopped eating chocolate for a month and at the end of the month, my craving for it diminished. If I don’t feed myself with His Word or get caught up in His love story for me, my desire for Him diminishes as well. The psalmist loved God’s Word, as seen in  Psalm 119: “How sweet are Your words to my taste, sweeter than honey to my mouth!” When we feed ourselves with His Word, that desire is ever-increasing and is of greater necessity than any other need.
  2. We don’t fully understand the depth of His character. He really is a God of love and it was a passionate and violent love that led Him to the cross. Consider Hosea 2: “”And it shall be, in that day,” says the Lord, “that you will call Me ‘My Husband,’ and no longer call Me ‘My Master’…”I will betroth you to Me forever…in righteousness and justice, in loving kindness and mercy.” He also really is a God of adventure. Consider the lives of David, Moses, Joshua, and Paul. While there were dull moments, their lives were intertwined with risk and adventure as they lived for God’s purposes.

Point being…? HE is our love story, HE is our adventure. Living life with this great God is an adventure intertwined with a greater love than this world can offer. The movies cannot mimic His love, His greatness, His adventure lived out in our lives. If He created us to desire such love and such adventure, only He can satisfy the desire. HE IS the God of love and romance. HE IS the God of action, adventure, and glory.

Leave a Reply

